Technology

Tools for Collaboration: Pinterest

Pinterest

Some of you may be thinking, “How can Pinterest be used for collaboration among teachers?” Well, that’s what I’m about to explain to you!

I absolutely love Pinterest. I’m usually on there every day pinning favorite quotes of mine or some delicious looking recipes. Pinterest is a free, social network that allows users to visually share and discover new interests. Users can “pin” and share images and videos to their own “boards” or others’ “boards”. A board typically has a common theme. For example, I have a board titled Quotes and a board titled Food & Recipes. As a user, you can make your own unique pins or you can browse and share others’ pins. Pinterest has suggested topics for you to browse or you can use the search bar if you are looking for something specific.

As a college student studying secondary education, I have used Pinterest to look for ideas for lesson plans. For my Methods of Teaching Science class, I had to come up with a discrepant event. I immediately went to Pinterest and typed “discrepant event science” into the search bar, and I was provided with a lot of fun options that must have been shared by parents or by other teachers.

As a future science teacher, one of my favorite aspects of Pinterest is the ability to collaborate and have a shared board among a group of people. If I work in a district that has multiple science teachers, we can share ideas with each other via a collaborative board. If I find a funny, science-based joke, I can pin it to the board and the people that I share the board with will be able to see my pin. We can also share lessons or activity ideas through this board.

Additionally, as a teacher, you can share your lessons and ideas via Pinterest for other teachers to find and use!

So, if you haven’t checked out this awesome collaborative tool yet, I suggest checking it out here!

For now,

Steph

 

2 thoughts on “Tools for Collaboration: Pinterest

Leave a Reply

