Technology

My First Makerspace

Last week, I participated in my first makerspace! I was given the opportunity to go to the local middle school to help facilitate the makerspace workshop and share my new-found knowledge of green screens with 15 energetic students ranging from ages 7-12.

Some of you may have never heard of a makerspace and some of you may know it by other names including hackerspaces, hackspaces, or fab labs. These creative experiences allow students to gather, learn, create, and invent.

Here is a quick tutorial that explains more about what a makerspace is:

The makerspace that I helped facilitate allowed the students to explore how a green screen works and what they can do with it. I had a lot of fun watching the students put together little skits. Middle school students sure have some wild imaginations! Two of the students I worked with just happened to be wearing green shirts that day. They came up with idea of setting the background as a haunted house and acting as ghosts. It looked like they were just a pair of floating heads and arms! I wish I had the footage to share with you!

Here is a photo taken after the makerspace of me and some of my fellow classmates that helped facilitate the makerspace:

Makerspace

I laughed a lot during the short hour I was at the school, and I am so glad that I had this opportunity.

 

For now,

Steph

2 thoughts on “My First Makerspace

Leave a Reply

