Technology

Things That Make Me Go “Hmmmm…” – AKA Developing My Digital Footprint

Footprints

Today, I am feeling very overwhelmed..

It all started in my Educational Media Applications class this morning. We began the class by discussing the section we had read from Eric Sheninger’s “Digital Leadership.” After discussing in groups, Professor Brogley introduced us to the concept of building a Personal Learning Network (PLN) – a connection of people with whom a learner interacts, shares, and derives knowledge.

Personal Learning Networks are completely transforming education. There are so many places online where teachers can collaborate, share ideas, and learn from each other. Professor Brogley had a lot of suggestions. LinkedInGoogle+TwitterPinterestFacebook, and blogs are only a few of the many resources available to educators. Through these websites, teachers from across states, countries, and even the world are able to communicate with each other and share their experiences and knowledge. As educators, we are always learning. Who best to learn from than other educators?

As a future science teacher, I am going to be putting a lot of time into developing my digital footprint and PLN. By putting my name out there, I could possibly find future employers. Once I’m employed, I will continue to build my PLN in order to supplement my classroom. I expect that I will be able to find lesson plans and technologies that I can incorporate into my class. I could even make connections with prestigious scientists who may be willing to Skype with my students.

To those of you have not yet heard about this concept of a Personal Learning Network, I hope that you can see the importance of it. Here is my reasoning: more educators developing PLNs = more resources for us to share = more ways/ideas to supplement students’ learning. It’s as simple as that! As I stated before…who best to learn from than other educators?

Of course, this is only the beginning of my PLN. So far, I have set up this blog, a Google+ account, and a LinkedIn account. I know that I still have a lot to learn and that technology is always changing. I also have a few questions that I hope get answered in Professor Brogley’s class. How do I stay up-to-date with the changing technology/fads? How many sites/accounts should I use to build my PLN? Is more better? Are there certain websites that are more popular among educators?

If any of you are interested in learning more about Personal Learning Networks, I suggest checking out the following:

For now,

Steph

One thought on “Things That Make Me Go “Hmmmm…” – AKA Developing My Digital Footprint

Leave a Reply

